On July 7, 2015, Forsyth City Council awarded three City Firefighters, Deputy Chief Davis Norris, Firefighter/Paramedic Chris Andrews and Firefighter/EMT Justin Hammond, with the Medal of Valor Award for performance that was above and beyond the call of duty at extreme personal risk and having been instrumental in rescuing and saved another person’s life.

Two Monroe County Firefighters, Firefighter Matt Millwood and Jason Smith, were awarded the Valor Ribbon during the Forsyth City Council meeting for performance above and beyond the call of duty at extreme personal risk.  Monroe County Firefighter Jack Adams was awarded the Unit Citation Ribbon for performance beyond normal expectations in an emergency situation.

City of Forsyth Fire Chief David Herndon was recognized for his leadership role during the incident.

The awards were given to honor the acts of the firefighters involved in the incident occurring on June 15, 2015 where a man had to be rescued form a vehicle that was under a mobile home.  The vehicle had severed a natural gas line and was on top of the free flowing gas line.  The firefighters did not hesitate to enter the vehicle and remove the driver of the vehicle.

“We all should be proud that despite the exteme danger, our firefighters acted swiftly, without hesitation and showed great courage in saving a life” stated City Manager, Janice Hall.

Firefighter/Paramedic Chris Andrews, Firefighter/EMT Justin Hammond, Firefighter/EMT Daniel Fullmore and Mrs. Marcia English were also recognized for their quick action that resulted in a Life Saved.  On Saturday June 27, 2015, Rescue 101 was dispatched to a man down in Ingles, with CPR in progress.  Rescue 101 and Engine 101 responded and located the victim to find Mrs. Marcia English performing CPR on the victim.  The fire crew assumed CPR and quickly placed AED on the patient.  After a series of shocks by AED and the continuation of CPR the patient had a pulse when ambulance arrived.  This incident will be submitted to the State EMS Region Office for a Cardiac Arrest Save and to the American Heart Association for recognition.

Group  Herndon receiving award  Norris receiving award  Andrews and Hammond receiving award  group 2