Appointed Boards

Downtown Development Authority (DDA)Board Appointments

Consisting of seven members appointed by the Mayor and City Council, the DDA is charged with promoting and revitalizing the city's downtown district. Its role is to support economic development, improve the overall environment, and enhance the quality of life in the downtown district. This board also acts as a catalyst for positive change in the downtown area, fostering economic vitality, preserving historic character, and creating an attractive, vibrant hub within the city.

DDA board members are appointed to serve staggered 4-year terms. The members must be taxpayers who live in the city, or owners or operators of businesses located in the downtown development area. One board member may be a member of the governing authority.

DDA meets the second Monday of each month at 5:00 P.M. at City Hall.

Housing Authority (HA)

The Housing Authority Board is charged with the governance of the operations of the local housing authority. This authority is responsible for not only providing safe, decent, sanitary, and affordable housing for citizens of low to moderate incomes but also providing the essential self-sufficiency skills crucial to assisting residents in making the transition from public housing to home ownership.

The Housing Authority is a five-member body appointed by the Mayor and City Council. The Authority meets the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 3:00 P.M. at City Hall.

Planning and Zoning Commission/Design Review Board

The Planning and Zoning Commission is tasked with a vital role in shaping the future development and land use within the city. Their primary responsibility is to ensure that the growth and development of our community align with the city's comprehensive plan and zoning ordinances. This entails reviewing and making recommendations on zoning changes, land use proposals, and development projects, while also considering the broader interests of the community in terms of aesthetics, environmental impact, and infrastructure. By carefully evaluating proposals, the Commission helps maintain the character and functionality of the city, while also safeguarding the interests of both property owners and the public.

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and Council to five-year terms.  Meetings are held on the 4th Monday of each month at 5 P.M. at City Hall.

Additional information:

  • See Zoning Enforcement Department to download appropriate form(s).
  • QUESTIONS? Please contact the Zoning Officer at Forsyth City Hall for more information. (478) 994-7747